The CPA is now accepting applications for its 2016 summer school at UCONN

JUNE 12-18, 2016



The Nicolas Guillen Philosophical Literature Prize are awarded at the international annual meetings of the Caribbean Philosophical Association. The prize is to be awarded to an author whose contribution to Caribbean thought is through the medium of the novel, poetry, theater, or cinema.

The Caribbean Philosophical Association is pleased to announce the 2015 recipients of the association’s awards for contributions to Caribbean thought and philosophical literature. The awards will be conferred in a special session of the 12th international conference of the Caribbean Philosophical Association, which will take place June 18 to 21, 2014, in Riviera Maya, Quintana Roo, Mexico. For more information on the conference, click here.



The Nicolás Guillén Lifetime Achievement Award
for Philosophical Literature:

Samuel R. Delany is one of the great living science fiction writers and public intellectuals on queer issues.  He has won the Hugo (2 times), the Nebula (4 times), the two highest prizes for that genre, and the Stonewall Award for his activism on gay issues.  The number of dissertations, monographs, anthologies, and special issues of journals on his work are numerous. 

“It is a shame,” reflects President Jane Anna Gordon, “that it is such a truism that the great, in their day, are so manhandled by so many of their supposed colleagues.  For an organization like the Caribbean Philosophical Association that is devoted to better understanding the past and present to better imagine livable futures, we wish to express our admiration and thanks to Samuel Delany, whose reflections on refraction, the written word, and sexuality have contributed to our larger aim of shifting the geography of reason.”

Here are two biographical links on Samuel R. Delany:

George Lamming

George Lamming is unusual in that he could be either a Fanon or Guillen Lifetime Achievement Awardee, but as his primary mode is the novel, and, as Paget Henry (Premier Fanon Award winner, 2004) has located him as a poeticist in his classic Caliban’s Reason and many other works, he is awarded as such here.   He was one of the participants in the first Black Writers’ Conference in Paris (1956), where he met and became a good friend of Frantz Fanon.   He is the author of a canonical work of Caribbean fiction, In the Castle of My Skin, and many influential essays.  He was recently honored, alongside Wilson Harris (the Premier lifetime achievement winner of the Guillén, 2008), as a recipient of the Anisfield-Wolf Award ( in the UK. 

As with the other lifetime achievement laureates, the dissertations, monographs, anthologies, and articles on Lamming are numerous.  In the words of President Jane Anna Gordon, “Creative worlds borne of the imagination of George Lamming contributed to setting the conditions for organizations like the Caribbean Philosophical Association to emerge. Simply put, we aim to continue and extend his vision of what the political and psychological decolonization of the Caribbean and Africana diaspora entails.”

Biographical links on George Lamming:

The Nicolás Guillén 
for Philosophical Literature:


Calzada is one of Cuba's leading queer theorists.  This summer, he offered the first queer/LGBT studies courses in Cuban history.  He published one of the first books of homoerotic poetry in Cuba since the Revolution.  He has won both Cuba's National Poetry and National Essay Prizes, something that no one has accomplished in Cuban history.  Much of his most popular (recent) work has been translated into English – and in other languages.   President, Jane Anna Gordon, adds:  “The Caribbean Philosophical Association is delighted to add our recognition to the considerable praises that Victor Fowler Calzada has already rightfully received for his contributions to Caribbean letters.  We especially celebrate the ways in which his work embodies what it is to be as fully Cuban as he is queer, articulating a distinctively Caribbean LBGT poetic and historical voice sorely needed in the region.

His most recent book is entitled: Paseos coporales y de escritura (2013). 
Some useful links on his work:


The Nicolás Guillén Award for
Outstanding Book in Philosophical Literature  


Creole Renegades: Rhetoric of Betrayal and Guilt in the Caribbean Diaspora
By Bénédicte Boisseron

Creole Renegades: Rhetoric of Betrayal and Guilt in the Caribbean Diaspora. University of Florida Press, 2014.

Bénédicte Boisseron is Associate Professor of French and Francophone Language and Literature at the University of Montana: 


Past recipients of the Guillén Award include Supriya Nair, Wilson Harris, Ramabai Espinet, Edwidge Danticat, Gabriel García Márquez, Junot Díaz, The Mighty Chalkdust / Hollis Liverpool, Prafulla Kar, Gordon Rohlehr, and Ana Lydia Vega.  



Recipients 2014

Life-time Achievement:

Ngugi wa Thiong’o

Philosophical Literature:

Frieda Ekotto

Outstanding Book in Philosophical Literature:

Pathologies of Paradise: Caribbean Detours
By Supriya Nair

Recipients 2013

Life-time Achievement:

Ana Lydia Vega

Philosophical Literature:

Jose Buscaglia

Recipients 2012

Life-time Achievement: 

The Mighty Chalkdust / Hollis Urban Lester Liverpool

Prafulla Kar

Philosophical Literature:

Gordon Rohlehr

Recipient 2011

Junot Díaz 

Recipient: 2010 

Gabriel García Márquez

Recipient: 2009

Edwidge Danticat 

Recipients: 2008

Ramabai Espinet

Wilson Harris



Nicholas Guillén

Click here for  biographical information on Nicholas Guillén